Forget Me Not

 

forget me not

Like my parents, I also really love flowers. In this morning weekend I spend my time together to gardening. While taking care of every flower, my mom said “It would be nice if we can plant forget-me-not flower here” My mind immediately drifted to remember it beautiful flower. We have the forget-me-not flower while we are live in Melbourne. Small blue flower with a golden bud in the middle of it petals. (There are some kinds of that are purple).

I also remember very well the history or legend of “Forget me not “There are some legend about this flower. In a German legend, after the earth was created, God went to each plant and animal and gave each a name. As God finished and was getting ready to leave, he heard a little voice at his feet saying “what about me?” He bent down and picked up the little plant that he had forgotten, and said “Because I forgot once, I shall never forget you again, and that shall be your name.” (Please do not ever think that our God is a God were inattentive. This is just a legend).

Another one is, when Jesus Christ was sitting on Mary’s lap one day and said that he wished that future generations could see her eyes. He touched her eyes and then waved his hand over the ground and blue forget-me-nots appeared, hence the name forget-me-not.

In Mill’s “History of Chivalry,” is given another story of origin with less happy ending. The lover, when trying to pick blossoms of the myosotis (the Latin name) for his lady-love, was drowned, his last words as he threw the flowers on the bank being “Forget me not.”

My mind drifted away. This flower is a symbol of Friendship, loving remembrance, and faithfulness. Same as this flower, so is our god. God’s love is very beautiful, He is our forever best friend, and about faithfulness, Lamentation 3:23 said: “they are new every morning great is Thy Faithfulness.”

“Forget me Not” flower just blooms in summer and in the end it will wither. Not like our Father in Heaven, His presence always be there in all seasons. We always feel His magnificent Love, kindness, and His faithfulness all the time. My favorite hymn song “Great is Thy Faithfulness “ said : “Summer and winter, and spring time and harvest, sun, moon and stars in their courses above, join with all nature in manifold witness to Thy great faithfulness, mercy, and love.”

If “forget me Not” flower only provide a physical beauty, Our God almighty provide us a magnificence spiritual life. Our God is incomparable with every beautiful flower at the entire of the world. For He who created it all.

Do you know something? “Forget me Not” is a forgotten flower (according the legend), but Our God almighty as the creator of the universe doesn’t want to be forgotten like “forget me Not”. God said to us: And it shall be, if thou do at all forget the Lord thy God, and walk after other gods, and serve them, and worship them, I testify against you this day that ye shall surely perish.” (Deuteronomy 8:19). He never forgets us as His beloved child. Let’s take a look at this verse: “Can a woman forget her nursing child, and not have compassion on the son of her womb? Surely they may forget, yet I will not forget you” (Isaiah 49:15)

Dear God in Heaven, I won’t forget You as You never forget me. Amen

Karina

Photo sources : mostbeautifulflower.com

Leave a comment