Your Name Written on the Cross

Carrying the crossWhen I took my breakfast with my parents this morning, my daddy suddenly asked me a question;

“My dear, do you remember a story about carrying a cross that I told when you start to replacing my position in the company?”

My mind immediately  recalled it story;

The young man was at the end of his rope. Seeing no way out, he dropped to his knees in prayer. “Lord, I can’t go on,” he said. “I have too heavy a cross to bear.” The Lord replied, “My son, if you can’t bear its weight, just place your Cross inside this room. Then open another door and pick any Cross you wish. There are so many Cross with the name of their owners.” The young man was filled with relief. “Thank you, Lord,” he sighed, and did as he was told. As he looked around the room he saw many different Crosses; some so large the tops were not visible. Then he spotted a tiny cross leaning against a far wall. “I’d like that one, Lord,” he whispered. And the Lord replied, “My son, that’s the Cross you brought in with your name written on it.”

“Yes, daddy “I replied. He smile at me

Then he asked me again; “Are you ready to carrying the cross that God gave to you?”

I am speechless. Thinking

“Are you? “

 I look his eyes and said: “Yes dad. I am ready to carrying the God’s cross. No matter how big the cross that I should have to bear. God has designed the cross which according to my ability and He trust me to know that I can carry it with His help.”

“Good. And then prove it, my dear princess “He said as he stroked my hair.

The conclusion of the story rang in my ears as my daddy explained it’s moral.God gives us a Cross to bear and he knows we be able to handle it. Each Cross was designed for us, and we will be the one that becomes a better person because of it. Like coal under intense pressure, it will become a diamond. There isn’t another cross more perfect for us, and no one else’s cross can replace it.

So since then, when I am challenged and am feeling weak, I remember this story, and I know that I need to give it to God. He knows I can handle it, and if I get tired He is the one that will help me continue on. And in the end, it’s not about the burden at all; what’s important is how you bear your cross and what you learn from the journey.

Then said Jesus unto his disciples, If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow me. Mathew 16: 24

Too often we think our burdens are the heaviest until we see the burdens that others carry.

Karina

Photo sources: footage.shutterstock.com

2 thoughts on “Your Name Written on the Cross

  1. Great allegory about the cross! Helps put things in perspective. It’s all relative. Everyone has their crosses, even though you might not be able to see it on the outside. Thanks for the writing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

