Archive | July 5, 2013

Lord, Teach Us

prayer 2

Dear Lord  Jesus Christ in Heaven,

Teach us to always being humble, as you have humbled yourself on the cross.

Let the arrogances become our biggest enemy, wipe it, turn it into the lowliness,

so that through our  humility, people can see the light of Your love and mercy

Teach us to not standing on our own greatness and pride,

so we always walk on you mightiness ,not on our conceitedness.

Dear Lord in Heaven,

make us to become the light of Your humility, so that people can see how great You are.

Let only Your name be glorified and exalted upon the universe.

Teach us so that our lives are full of lowliness; lift all of our conceit and vanity.

Dear Lord, with Your loving kindness, teach us always… Amen

Karina

Photo credit: wikimedia

Walk Humbly Before God

washing.feet2“Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time. Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you”. (1Peter 5:6-7)

This evening I would like to share my thought about being humble (Long time ago, when I was teen I had a serious problem with this. Read my old post about ups and down as a single daughter). My parents implemented some rules in the family and these rules should to keep in our mind and should have to do in our daily lives. The first rule is: always walk in God’s way (this is the most important rule). The other one of them is: always being humble! My parents always remind me about this matter.

I do not know how many times (maybe hundred times) they always remind me to always being humble. I always remember my dad giving me a thought to never being arrogant but always to be humble person. He said: “although we are very rich, have houses and luxury cars, have a lot of money, all of it will become meaningless when we die. At that time, our bodies only placed on a box of coffin and simply taken by an ambulance. All the treasures that we have will not go with us. So don’t be arrogant with everything we have. Do not proud with wealth and luxury things because all of those things are blessing from God and belonging to God.”

Thus says the Lord:“Let not the wise man glory in his wisdom, Let not the mighty man glory in his might, Nor let the rich man glory in his riches; (Jeremiah 9:23).

The Bible verse in the first paragraph shows what God wants from us. What does it mean to be humble? Being humble is the opposite of being proud. Pride says “I have done it all myself.” Humility says “Every good gift I have was given to me by God.” Pride says “I am the king of the world.” Humility says “Jesus Christ is King of Kings and Lord of Lords and I am His servant.”

Pride says “I am the best.” Humility says “Let me prefer others above myself and give to others.” Pride and selfishness say “It is all about me.” Humility says “My time on earth is short; let God love others through me.” Pride says “What has been given to me is all for me to use and enjoy.” Humility and love say “What has been given to me is for me to bless others as well as to enjoy.”

We have two points from the comparison above. First, in Christian lives, every our actions always refer to the greatness and mightiness of God and humble person always puts himself into a servant. The 2nd point, a humble person is always tried to be a blessing to others. They always wanted other people feel the blessing that they received.

This Bible verses below can be used as an afterthought to us to always being humble. In practice is not easy to being humble but we all know that there is nothing impossible in God. Let God give us strength to always being humble. Jesus Christ our Lord already humbled himself when He rinses His disciples’ feet and died on the cross. So why we not start to humble ourselves as He did. Are we ready?

 “Let this mind be in you which was also in   Christ Jesus, who, being in the form of God, did not consider it robbery to be equal with God, but made Himself of no reputation, taking the form of a bondservant, and coming in the likeness of men.  And being found in appearance as a man, He humbled Himself and became obedient to the point of death, even the death of the cross. Therefore God also has highly exalted Him and given Him the name which is above every name, that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, of those in heaven, and of those on earth, and of those under the earth, and that every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father. (Philippians 2:5 – 11).

O God, who resists the proud, and gives grace to the humble: grant us the virtue of true humility, where of Your Only-begotten son showed in Himself a pattern for Your faithful; that we may never by our pride provoke Your anger, but rather by our meekness receive the riches of Your grace.

 But the meek shall inherit the earth; and shall delight themselves in the abundance of peace( Psalm 37:11)

Karina

Photo credit: http://www.squidoo.com

 

To Be Content

sunrise2

Dear Lord in Heaven, Good morning, God.

Thank you for another day that you given to me, Thank you for give me opportunity to see how beautiful sunrise. Thank for give me chance to hear morning song bird. I am grateful  for the mild and brightly weather. God, You are very great and wonderful God, full of mercy and grace,

Dear Lord, I pray today that I will yield my spirit completely to You, that You may use me as You please.  I pray that You will provide me opportunities to show people how much You mean to me.  Give me discretion to know what to say and how to say it.

 I pray that I will stay focused on You today.  I pray that You will constantly remind me to be content in all of my circumstances.  I pray that You will fill me up that I may be joyful all day, even if stress creeps in.  I know that through my contentment, You will be glorified.  I want to honor You, Father, in all that I do.  I praise Your Holy Name!  I submit this imperfect prayer into your hands. In the name of Lord of Jesus Christ, Amen

Karina

Photo credit: google image