Behind the Sadness

 

Hello dear readers!! It’s me again. How’s you going? I hope and pray everything is going well with all of you. My post this time isn’t a new post. I wrote it a year ago but has never been posted before. I hope and pray this post could be a blessing to all of us.

Not many people know that I’m a melancholic woman. I have a very sensitive feeling. I’m easily moved and sad. My tears easily drop when I see something really touched my heart such as sad movie or story. Many people argue that someone who easily touched, sad, and crying is a weak people. Well, I don’t agree with this opinion. People who are sensitive or easily sad aren’t necessarily a weak person. Sadness is a thing that couldn’t be separated from our lives.  No matter how good we organize our lives, still, there’re times we’ve to feel sad and should to cry. A simple example, we could be feeling sad and crying caused losing someone who we really love. My dear readers, through this post allow me to discuss about this topic. Let’s see what God’s word says about sadness.

Indeed, the Lord doesn’t want us to be people who are full of sadness but instead wants His children to be full of joy to completely feel His love and cares. Yet, as I said before at a time unavoidably, like it or not we should get into the sad time and situation and we even cannot avoid it. There’re many verses in the Bible which strengthens us to go back to feel joy when in difficult conditions, under pressure or when oppressed, but God’s word also said that:

There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens: a time to weep and a time to laugh, a time to mourn and a time to dance… (Ecclesiastes 3: 1, 4)

There’s a bible verse that sounds very controversial and opposed with the strengthen verses. Begin with the passage: “The Value of Practical Wisdom” It’s written:

Sorrow is better than laughter, For by a sad countenance the heart is made better. (Ecclesiastes 7:3)

This verse was written by the most wise man who ever existed in the world, Solomon! But, this verse seemed pretty weird. This verse as though has a meaning suggest us to be sad because will be better than to be happy. Is that true? Does God want us to be people who are often filled with sadness? Does God want us to be person who always have grim face and cheerless? Furthermore, let’s say God allows us to feel sorrow, what’s benefit for us? If any, what are they?

Essentially, God doesn’t want all of us to be in a prolonged sadness. He gives so many tips and promises that can affirm, strengthen and restore us into a sense of happiness, full of peace and joy. But once again, there’re times we’ve to be sad and it isn’t wrong as long as we could handle it very soon and not make our relationship with God frays. Well, it turns out, based on my experience, there’re positive things we can learn and it all will make us become stronger, wiser and better than before. After took quite long time to ponder this verse, I finally conclude that this verse break a paradigm that we absolutely shouldn’t grieve no matter the situation and condition. So that means, although we have to live joyfully and peacefully, if one day we must be sad, just be sad because through our sadness we could learn something positive and it will makes us better in the future and finally will bring happiness to our heart.

My beloved readers, let’s take a look to the next verse of Ecclesiastes 7. This following verse also looks so weird.

The heart of the wise is in the house of mourning, but the heart of fools is in the house of pleasure. (Verse 4)

Let’s to be honest, where we like to be, at the house of mourn or in a festive party? Of course we would prefer want to be in the party. There’s no sadness there. We just happy and enjoy the delicious foods, drinks, and other. But God’s word says the opposite. The fool is in the house of pleasure and the wise is in the house of mourning.  This verse will be difficult to accept but let’s take a look why being at the house mourning is better than the party house. Let’s think about the true meaning of this verse.

For an example, let say, we are in the festive birthday party. What we think about while we are in that party? I am pretty sure when in a party we don’t think about important and essential things of our lives. Probably we don’t ponder and think hard the way out of problems we face. We will dissolve in the festive spirit and we will busy involved in chat with friends or relatives. Now, in the house of mourn. Being in the house of mourn often brings the moment of reflection for us. Maybe we will think and ponder that life is short, maybe we will think about of our own lives whether we are ready if one day God calls us home to the Father’s home. Or maybe we will think weather in our lives we have pleasing God? The point is being in the house of mourn will usually remind us and bring a reflection for us and make us wiser. This’s the essential significance of the verse.

I reminded of David’s word that was written in Psalm 119:71 and in my opinion still related with the verses in the Ecclesiastes. David said,

” It is good for me that I have been afflicted, That I may learn Your statutes.”

David didn’t use his hard time as an excuse to be weak, to be disappointed to God, desperate, hopeless, and so on. He even felt that it was an opportunity to explore deeper about God’s statutes, learn more than before, and made it as moment to feel God’s touching extraordinarily.

Many people around me often said that I’m a woman who has never experienced trouble and sadness. Oh no! That’s totally wrong! Like other women I also often sad and cry, I often experience the pressure of the hard problems, even I’ve experienced being at the lowest and hardest point in my life. But in that very bad condition I was always reminded and strengthened by that verses. There’s a time for everything.  When I have to weep and cry in sorrow, that does not mean God is being cruel and having fun torturing me. Precisely for me, at that moment the Lord is forming me be strong and resilient. The hard situation teach me to be wiser and closer to God.

My dear friends, what about us now? Weather we are in “sad” season? If yes, this time I encourage all of us not to be discouraged and do not despair. Don’t waste our sad time just by moaning and crying but let’s use those time reflect thoroughly. Once again, please trust me, based on my own experience, there’re many valuable lesson we can learn behind our sadness.  Please be grateful because behind our suffering and sorrow, realize that we’re being formed and transformed to be stronger and wiser person. Through the difficult season we will experience spiritual and faith growth, learn more about God statutes, learn to always rely on God’s power more than anything. There’s a time for everything! Let’s put our faith on it and totally trust to God that in God’s time, He will lift all of our sorrow and change it to relief, joy, peace and happiness. Amen

Karina – Living by faith

Image source: thedailyverses.blogspot.com

 

 

 

 

74 thoughts on “Behind the Sadness

  1. Amen on the central focus of relying on God!

    Amen to this too – “Being in the house of mourn often brings the moment of reflection for us. Maybe we will think and ponder that life is short, maybe we will think about of our own lives whether we are ready if one day God calls us home to the Father’s home.”

    Because it was written, “It is better to go to a house of mourning than to go to a house of feasting, for death is the destiny of everyone; the living should take this to heart.” – Ecclesiastes 7:2, NIV.

    God bless you and in your walk with Him! Continue to bless others with your humble sharings as well!

  2. I am not sure what ails you but suffering brings you closer to Christ. I know I live it every day, I have a triple A n a terminal illness. I am closer to Christ now then 5yrs ago. Look at the Crucifixion for awhile and you’ll find Christ from a witness.

    • Dear, Ron.
      Thank you very much for reading my post. Also thank you for your lovely response. I pray for your ilness. May God heals you amazingly.. thank you and God Bless.

      • My time is close, I have already been healed by Christ, Soon I will be Him, I pray you see the face of Christ like Peter. Look towards the Cross.

  3. Wise words from a wise woman! We’re called to weep with those who weep….among other things. Sorrow can lead us into wisdom about ourselves and other people that we wouldn’t otherwise be able to learn. Thanks for this repost. Very timely! 🙂

  4. Beautiful post Karina! I also have a sensitive heart. Mourning helps us to repent and softens our hearts to the brokenness of this world. Even Jesus was a man of sorrows. We must follow in His footsteps.

    • Dear, Emily.
      Thank you very much for your lovely response, my dear friend.. Mourning and sadness also brings us to the deep reflection and closer to God. Thank you very much. God Bless.

  5. Profound words of wisdom. Emotions are important in this life and how God is touched by our emotions as well. It’s okay for men to express these emotions and shed tears too. It is a sign of special strength and not weakness. Thanks Karina!

    • Dear ,Mr. Roni
      You are welcome 🙂 Thank you very much for visiting my blog also read my post. I really appreciate..Also thank you for your lovely comment 🙂 God Bless.

      • Men decended from heaven, ascend into the heavens, Jacob’s ladder. You are to save a nation, like Queen Esther or destroy a nation like Queen Vashta which means darkness. Man called the darkness, God called the light.

    • Dear sister in Christ, Ferguson.
      Thank you very much for your lovely response on my post. I hope and pray this will a blessing to many 🙂 Thank you and God Bless.

    • Dear, sister Anna
      Yes God never abandons us to sorrow. God has great purposes when we have sorrow, He wants we get closer to Him. Thank you very much for your comment, sist. God bless and have a great new week.

  6. I don’t understand our Lord’s plan, but pain is definitely part of it. Because the Father loves His children He disciplines them.
    Hebrews 12:3-11

    Thank you for your post and for sharing your thoughts.

  7. When I am experiencing a loss, I often think of the following verses from Job 1:

    20 Then Job arose and tore his robe and shaved his head, and he fell to the ground and worshiped. 21 He said,
    “Naked I came from my mother’s womb,
    And naked I shall return there.
    The Lord gave and the Lord has taken away.
    Blessed be the name of the Lord.”
    22 Through all this Job did not sin nor did he blame God.

    Verse 22 says that Job did not sin in his actions described in verses 20-21. He had suffered losses, and he was grieving. So, it is not a sin to be sad. I think it is possible for sadness to become sinful though, if I don’t try to see God’s hand in my trials (trusting Him) and look for what He might be teaching me. Verse 21 shows that Job looked to God even though he was grieving. This is the key as you have pointed out.

    Thank you for your personal insights; it was a blessing to read this morning.

    • Dear, Kim
      Your are welcome 🙂 I thank you for the Bible verses and for the great conclusion of my post, Kim. God Bless and have a wonderful day with God.

  8. Our times of sadness and struggle help us remember our weakness and room where our strength can be found. Our strength is in God. Thank you for this post. It was well written.

  9. This is awesome! I definitely have always noticed that God teaches me SO much more during a difficult season than an ‘easier’ one. But through it all, we can rejoice in the Lord!

  10. How many times in my life with the Lord have I come to learn to be at peace when I am afflicted. It is indeed when I grow and find that He Is my strength, my wisdom, my peace. It is the time of the Potter working on the clay and the clay is to quietly submit. Thank you Karina.

  11. Hi Karina.
    I just read this post again and want to thank you for writing it. I know I already commented earlier, but today I needed to hear this again. Thank you so much. I’m also a very sensitive person. Today I’m feeling it in my bones and my spirit. Time to welcome sadness and grief.
    Blessings to you this day,
    Elouise

    • Dear sister Elouise
      Your are welcome, sister. Thank you very much you are willing to come and read my post again. It was a such a great honor to me. Hope and pray this post could be a blessing to you and others. Thank you and have a blessed weekend.

  12. Pingback: Behind the Sadness — Karina’s Thought – Hablemos de nosotras

  13. Oh sister, I too am often very emotional. I don’t consider it a bad thing. I think of words like empathy and compassion. The saddness I often feel is not for MYSELF, but for things that others are going through. I almost take on their heartbreak. I have had plenty of my own heartbreak in my 54 years on this earth and maybe in part because of things I have had in my own life it causes me to want to reach out in compassion to others hurting. Even if I can’t reach out to them I still hurt for their pain, and suffering and maybe broken heart. I have always been on the side of trying to look at all sides of situations and maybe that also adds to my often heavy saddness for people or situations around me. I also think it does keep me closer to desiring God and the Hope that I ONLY can find in Jesus Christ! I am thankful that I am a deeply feeling person. From the scriptures we can tell that Jesus deeply loved and had compassion on people. Jesus even wept.
    In John 11:35 , scripture simply says. ..’Jesus wept’. (In the Greek it says it is G1144 to shed tears. Says there is only 1 occurrence of this Greek word. Also says to compare to G2799 which means to sob, to wail aloud and 1145 is cry silently. 2799 is used 40 times.) There are many places in the bible showing us all the emotion that Jesus Christ felt. In Romans 9:2, Paul says ‘That I have great heaviness and CONTINUAL sorrow in my heart.’ In verse Romans 12:15 Rejoice with them that do rejoice, and weep with them that weep.
    There are many , many that say these things.
    Then, when we see all the insanity going on in the world it is hard not to feel such a great saddness.
    I think about verses – 2nd Peter 2:7-8
    7- and delivered just Lot, vexed with the filthy conversation of the wicked:
    8- (For that righteous man dwelling among them, in seeing and hearing, vexed his righteous soul from day to day with their unlawful deeds;)
    I find it interesting that in both verses 7 and 8 we find the word vexed (KJV). In verse 7 it is G2596/derivative of G4192 , it is to labor down, wear down with toil. In verse 8 vexed is G928 from G931 meaning to torture, cause pain, toul, torment.
    Then, King David
    Psalms 119:136. Rivers of waters run down mine eyes, because they keep not thy law.

    I often find myself as of late greatly disturbed within my soul for those in this nation who don’t know if they are male or female and have far too many other so called options . Now many don’t even want to put it on the birth certificate because the child will one day decide what they are. I have grandchildren who are now growing up in an ever increasingly confusing world.
    If you love God, and if you long to be with the Father in Heaven how can our souls not be grieved?
    (Sorry this comment was so long, but your post hit me where I live daily.)
    God bless you sister!

  14. Pingback: Behind the Sadness – Emeka Ofili

  15. Pingback: Behind the Sadness – NarrowPathMinistries

Leave a comment