Fear Not, For I AM with You

FEAR NOT FOR I AM WITH YOU - Karina's Thought

Once again, I begin this post with my childhood story. I really love swimming. Every day I always spent about 30 minutes to take swim before I go to the office. I was remembering when I was a kid for the first time my daddy taught me to swim. At that time I felt very scared when my daddy carrying me to the pool. “Daddy..! I am scared!” shouted me. But with his gentle smile he said patiently, “My dear little princess, please do not fear. I am with you and will hold you tight. I will not let you drowned. Just trust me, ok. Everything will be fine.” My daddy’s eye gaze and loving smile finally make me trust him. Though I am still afraid but I trust that my daddy will keep me safe.

 
My dear readers, this is about fear. In human life fear is not become a new thing. Fear always be there in every side of our life. Starting from the fear of darkness and other forms of phobias such as heights, enclosed spaces, fear as haunted by the past, even fear facing the future. In the one side, fear could give the positive impact to remind us to not be careless and cautious in making decisions or doing something. But in the other side, if the level of our fear too excessive, it can turn off our spirit and brings us to other losses. Not only makes us cannot grow and evolve, but it can also bring other problems such as health problems, unstable emotion and so on. Even worse, for us a Christians, fears also potentially make us no longer able to hear God’s voice or feel His presence. As we talk with someone, the more we move away from that person, the more difficult we hear his voice. It will be going like that if fear allowed undermining our feelings and minds. Satan will use our fear as a powerful weapon to destroy us. Fear will be widen the distance between us and God and ironically we begin to think that God leaves us alone and even more we dare to accuse God is not loves us.

 
Now, I would like to take you to look at the one bible story. We take a look when Jesus was in the boat with His disciples in the storm. The Bible wrote that after Jesus was in the boat He slept in the stern. Suddenly a furious storm came up on the lake and makes the disciples panic and fear. (Matthew 8:24) Then the disciples went to woke Him and said, “Lord, save us! We’re going to drown!” (Matthew 8:25) What was Jesus’ reaction at that time? When Jesus woke up, he did not say, “Sorry I fall asleep” or “Sorry, I am careless” but please pay attention what Jesus said, “You of little faith, why are you so afraid?” (Matthew 8:26) Then Jesus got up and rebuked the winds and the waves, and it was completely calm. What is the point of this story? The point is faith and trust! This event occurred after Jesus fed 5000 people. The disciples supposed do not need to be afraid because they already knew that Jesus be able to make a miracle. If Jesus can fed 5000 people by only 5 loaves and 2 fishes, He also can be able to overcome the storm. If only the disciples have a strong faith and fully trust to Jesus, they will not be shackled by fear.

 
The disciples’ attitude was also a picture of our attitudes in our lives. Our heart and mind more dominated and controlled by fear so our faith and trust to God getting waver. We forgot that we have God almighty who always be with us and can do anything to help us. At the time, the disciples should not have to be afraid because they are with Jesus the Lord that always preserves them. That’s why Jesus rebuked the disciples because they have so little faith and trust to Him. This is also a rebuke to all of us that we must have faith and trust which greater than our fear.

 
Let’s take a look to another story when the disciples saw Jesus walks on the water. They were frightened and thought Jesus was a ghost. But Jesus immediately said to them: “Take courage! It is I. don’t be afraid.” (Matthew 14:27) Then Peter said, “Lord, if it’s you,” Peter replied, “tell me to come to you on the water.” (Matthew 14:28) Jesus said, “Come” (Matthew 14:29). What happens next? Peter was successfully walked on the water. But, when the wind hit him, he was feared and begins to sink. What makes Peter failed to walk on water? Once again, beside he doubts, Peter was afraid! But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!” (Matthew 14:30) And for the umpteenth time Jesus rebuked, “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?” (Matthew 14:31) Jesus’ rebuke is also addressed to us today. Fear can make us fail to achieve success. Even when the level of our fear is greater than our faith it can obstruct our progress and even our dreams. We could not move on and trapped in the grip of fear.

 
From the two stories above, there is a causal relationship between being afraid and trust. When we talk about trust, we talk about faith. The lack of trust and fait will cause fear in our life. Because of fear, there is no more joy, victory, and peace. My dear lovely friends, what about us now? How big the fear haunts our life? How deep we trust in God? Fear will never disappear from our lives. But if we believe and surrender our lives wholly into the God’s hand that created everything perfectly, why we should be afraid? If God is powerful than anything else promised to continue to accompany, encourage, help and hold us to achieve victory, why should we falter and allow ourselves to continue gripped by fear? I ask you to remember one of God’s promises,

 

 

So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. (Isaiah 41:10)

If we ponder this verse wholeheartedly then we will realize a wonderful promise as an answer of what we face today. If I completely trust to my father who really loves me will keep me safe and not let me drown when taught me to swim, much less to Heavenly Father who created me. I strongly believe that our Heavenly Father really loves us and will keep us safe too in facing any problem and difficulties in life without fear. There is no father who would harm his beloved child. So it is with our Heavenly Father. When God said to us, “Come” We should to be confident and brave to walk and our eyes keep focus only to God. We should totally trust that He will always be with us, and even if during we walk our lives buffeted by the severe storm, He will not let us fall. As was written in Psalm,

 

The LORD makes firm the steps of the one who delights in him; though he may stumble, he will not fall, for the LORD upholds him with his hand. (Psalm 37:23-24)

My lovely friends, I don’t know what kind of fear you face now, but allow me to encourage you, immediately tried to get out and rid out from the shadows of fear. How? Continuously grow and strengthen our faith and trust in God. Keep walk with God and submit all of our worries to Him, wholly trust in His mightiness. Maintain our intimacy with Him through prayer and ponder God’s word day by day. Always embed “Fear not, for I am with you” in the deepest of our heart and mind, make it as our guidance. Always Living in God’s love and feel His perfect love in every step of our life, for there is no fear in love. Amen.

 

There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love. (1John 4:18)

Further reading:  http://dbethandrews.wordpress.com/2014/06/02/in-my-prison-of-fear/

 

Karina – Living by Faith
Photo credit: Backhuysen, Rudolf, commons. Wikimedia.org

64 thoughts on “Fear Not, For I AM with You

  1. Dear Karina –

    You have such a beautiful way of taking two or three lovely threads … entwining them together – and then gifting me a wondrous bracelet of Love.

    One I can carry with me – look at – and remember more easily what my lord is trying to get through my thick head!

    For the gift He has given you – I thank you both.

    Like

    • Dear Brother Paul,
      you always make comments that thrill my heart. it was a beautiful encouragement comment for me.I think the words are not enough to express my gratitude to you. I can only pray for you and your blog which blessed me so much. Thank you brother Paul. Many love and blessings to you 🙂

      Like

  2. Karina, wonderful post. As your Daddy was there for you to protect and uphold you our Heavenly Father is always watching out for us. “No Fear”. Thank you and Lord bless you.

    Like

  3. She really does have such a beautiful way of imparting God’s Truth, paulfg!
    Karina- this is such a wonderful post…thank you! We need to be reminded that our Father’s Perfect Love casts out all fear, and embrace that Truth as we move through the storms in life. Your daddy/daughter swimming example is spot-on!! Yes, fear is the opposite of faith, and God tells us in Romans 14:3b how serious it is to doubt His Perfect Love….
    “Everything that does not come from faith is sin.”
    Karina, you are so right -the disciples did not need to be afraid for Jesus had just performed the miracle of feeding 5000 in front of them! I remember being at church one Sunday and our pastor pointing out a verse that never stood out to me before. Here it is:
    “That day when evening came, he said to his disciples, “Let us go over to the other side.” – Mark 4:35
    Jesus had told them they WERE GOING TO THE OTHER SIDE! As you so beautifully put… we should “strongly believe that our Heavenly Father really loves us and will keep us safe too in facing any problem and difficulties in life without fear. There is no father who would harm his beloved child.” Amen, Karina! Amen! Thank you dear Sister for your continual encouragement to put our complete trust in the One who gave His very life for us!

    Like

    • Dear Sister,
      I don’t know what to say to respond your great comment 🙂 Your Bible verse and the very encouragement so meaningful to me.as I did to brother Paul, I pray for your lives. May God continue use you to be blessings for many people through your awesome blog. Once again thank you very much for the such a powerful comment, sis. Many blessings to you and have a great day 🙂

      Like

  4. Hi Karina
    Thank you for this post. The one thing that stands out to me is how fear and doubt will hinder God’s dreams for me. In the two stories you shared about Peter fear got the best of him and because he was in fear he failed and was not able to walk in trust.

    I struggle with fear a lot. God has called me to do great things I believe but at times I let fear get in the way. This post helped me. to refocus. Thanks Karina.

    Rolain

    Like

    • Dear brother Rolain,
      First of all, thank you for reading and commenting my post. I am so glad my post could gave you something useful. I pray for every struggle in your life. May God strengthen you to deal with. Nothing impossible before God 🙂 Have a blessed time in God.

      Like

  5. Karina, it is so easy to let fear and doubt in – they are the first responders when a crisis occurs. We must allowing the Spirit to help us develop a new habit of responding first in faith.
    Wonderful post!

    Like

  6. Karina, thank you for this wonderful, encouraging post. So much has already been said about it that I can’t think of any additional words to add to the others. just thank you sweet girl. You are a blessing!

    Like

  7. Sweet Karina, have you been reading my mind lately? God has been dealing with me about all the fear in my life, and I just posted a devotional about the same thing on my own blog page. I didn’t say it as beautifully as you have. You were writing straight to my heart. I love to read your posts Karina. Every one is a joy. God bless you my precious friend,

    Like

  8. Dear Karina, Thank you for another lovely post. Before I Knew Jesus I used to suffer from severe social anxiety and many more things. Since Jesus came into my life I am finding myself in many social situations where he gives me the strength and bravery I need to do them. I very rarely feel the social anxiety anymore and have had so many wonderful doors open in my life. Your post is so true! many blessings to you.

    Like

  9. Dear Karina, thank you for stopping by and reading/liking my blog and blog post. I also really enjoyed your thoughts here. As fear has been an issue I have struggled with in the past I can relate to much of what you write, I am glad that God doesn’t reject us because we fear but lead us by the hand until we can trust in Him more than what we see.

    Shalom to you xxx

    Like

    • Hi dear.
      You are welcome. I love your great blog. Thank you so much for visiting back my blog also commenting my post 🙂 I really appreciate it. Have a wonderful day in God. Blessings.

      Like

  10. very encouraging! I have faced much fear at times in my life…but my trust in God made the difference not in making the event go away, but gave me strength so I could endure it. Isaiah 41:10 is one of my favorite promises that makes me strong! Good read!

    Like

  11. Wow, you write so well! Very informative and detailed verses to share about fear. That’s awesome that your Dad had taught you how to swim and that you often do today. I still am not able to swim, but hope to learn someday soon.

    Like

    • Dear sf,
      Thank you so much for stopping and reading my post 🙂 by the way don’t be discourage, I think there are so many people in this world couldn’t swimming. You can learn any time 🙂 thank you and blessings.

      Like

  12. Karina this is yet another post rich with insight on our walk of faith. Fear is something we all have to deal with one way or another on a regular basis. The beauty of teachings like this, is that it exposes how much the enemy can take from us, if we refuse to stand against fear stealing our dreams and the best part of our lives. Thanks for taking the time to write and encourage us to rise up in faith! Blessings always 🙂

    Like

    • Dear sis Shade
      You are welcome. Thank you so much for giving me a beautiful comment. You always gave comment that could make me ponder and useful. Thank you sis. Many love and blessings to you 🙂

      Like

  13. Pingback: Got A Fear Of Driving, Get Over it! Overcome Fear Of Driving

  14. Hi Karina, when I was young I had two very bad experiences swimming at the Beach, one time I almost drowned, so in life yes we can experience fear but we can also be Perfected in Love. This is not worldly perfection and like our righteousness it is a reality in our actions and not just part of being in Christ Jesus and having His, which is our covering until we are Perfected and made Righteous too. We are to put our flesh to death by The Spirit,(Romans 8 :12-15 – Colossians 3:4-6 -Galatians 24 -26)

    As we can see below both our own Perfection and Righteousness are confirmed in the Scriptures as a reality, sadly some don’t understand these important Truths and Trust in what others tell them even when in error and not in Jesus who leads us into all Truth. (Matthew 10:26-28) and this is always confirmed in context in the Scriptures and/or Creation.

    1 John 4:17-19 Herein is our Love made perfect, that we may have boldness in the day of judgment: because as He is, so are we in this world. There is no fear in Love; but perfect Love casteth out fear: because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made perfect in Love. We Love Him, because He first Loved us.

    1John 3 – (7) Dear children, do not let anyone lead you astray. He who does what is right is righteous, just as He is righteous.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

    Like

    • Dear sis Anne,

      Thank you so much for great further explanation of my post. Also thank you so much for the Bible verses. All of your explanation will become my study and I do believe that it could increase my insight. Once again thank you for always giving me valuable comment. Have a beautiful lives in the Lord Jesus. Blessings.

      Like

  15. Pingback: Heart of faith | daily meditation

  16. Thank you Karina, your a very Loving Sister in The Lord and very respectful to Grannie Annie.

    I was wondering Karina if you could share a message about putting our evil flesh to death by the Spirit (see below) it was something I didn’t know about untill I asked for God’s wisdom and the empowering of The Holy Spirit , I will leave a link for you below that you may find helpful in regard to this.

    Wisdom – http://alifeofhopeandjoy.wordpress.com/2011/11/16/the-gaining-of-wisdom/

    Putting our flesh to death was not taught to me in all my years of going to Church and yet The Scriptures refer to doing so quiet a few times, I will just share a few and you can see yourself that it was indeed taught in the early Church.

    Colossians 3:4-6 When Christ, who is your life, appears, then you also will appear with Him in glory. Put to death, therefore, whatever belongs to your earthly nature: sexual immorality, impurity, lust, evil desires and greed, which is idolatry. Because of these, the wrath of God is coming.

    Galatians 24 -26 And they that are Christ’s have crucified the flesh with the affections and lusts. if we live in the Spirit, let us also walk in the Spirit. Let us not be desirous of vain glory, provoking one another, envying one another.

    2 Corinthians 7: 1 Having therefore these promises, dearly beloved, let us cleanse ourselves from all filthiness of the flesh and spirit, perfecting holiness in the fear of God.

    Romans 8 :12-15 Therefore, brothers, we have an obligation—but it is not to the sinful nature, to live according to it. or if you live according to the sinful nature, you will die; but if by the Spirit you put to death the misdeeds of the body, you will live, because those who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne.

    Like

      • Yes but only if you want to Karina, please don’t feel pressured, putting the flesh to death is not taught much today, some think your zapped but it is something we all have to do by The Spirit as you can see in the Scripture above.

        I have commented before about this Truth but perhaps I should also write a Post about it too, it is very important that we put our flesh to death, it’s not fleshy works, it’s obedience. Good and evil cannot Co-exist and we are to aim to be perfected in Love as Paul tells us to do.

        Blessings – Anne

        Like

        • Well, ok sis. I will try to write it but first, I couldn’t give a promise when it will complete. For me, to write something, I need a mood or there is something touch my heart and mind, also need to study on the topic that I want to write. But I will try to write this important topic. Thank you for giving me an challenging topic to share 🙂 Blessings.

          Like

  17. Karina, thank you for the reminder that fear is a weapon of the enemy and that our faith in God is our shield. I enjoyed the image of a loving father carrying his daughter to the pool. Our God will not let us sink and drown.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Like

  18. Simply beautiful the way you weave those passages together to punctuate the point. It is also very timely because our fears are always lurking trying to eat away at our faith. Your analogy between your father and OUR Father is priceless! Peace and Blessings to you!

    Like

    • Dear Lilka
      Thank you so much 🙂 yes you are so true. Our fears always lurking trying to destroy our faith and set apart us from God. Lirka, thank you for the lovely comment. Have a wonderful weekend in God.

      Like

  19. This is well done, my dear! You keep on writing and professing the greatness of the Lord!

    Grandpa Steve 🙂

    Like

  20. Pingback: Finish This #22 | MKG- Memories-Keepsakes-Gifts

  21. Karina, you have such a wonderful way to disect the truth of God’s word. You are very gifted. Thank you for your encouragment through this post and others. You bless me with each post.

    Like

  22. Pingback: Don't let tomorrow be just another Monday

  23. Just beautiful Karina… and I love the ‘Daddy’ story. : ) Have you seen Jack Dey’s new book ‘Aunt Tabbie’s Wings’? It’s so beautiful. It has a strong Daddy (and Heavenly Daddy) theme running right through it. Your post reminded me of it. Blessings.

    Like

    • Hi dear,

      Thank you so much for reading my post 🙂 oh about Jack’s book. Yes I have been visit his blog and read about the book. I thought I have to purchase it 🙂 Thank you and blessings to you.

      Like

  24. Pingback: Fear Not - Considering Grace

  25. Pingback: Freedom from Fear | Elevate Your Faith 24X7

  26. A true test of our faith is how closely we can follow this command. The Lord says “Fear not I am with thee…” (Isaiah 41:10). And as you have said, and rightly so, perfect love drives out fear. If we trust and love our Lord in this, we should fear nothing in life.

    Now that’s not to say we don’t watch out for ourselves and the ones we love, because we must use the brain God gave us! But in love fear is destroyed, much like in Light, evil is revealed and destroyed.

    It can be harder for some to trust to this level, but that would mean more work is required. We all have our points of walking closer to God which need improvement…

    Steve

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for the deeply insight, brother 🙂 we all have our points of walking closer to God. It was so true. Wak closer, and closer to God and His love will destroy our fear 🙂 God bless you brother, have a wonderful weekend.

      Liked by 1 person

      • We have no power within us like that which we have in Christ Jesus. All of our abilities, strengths, love, compassion come by way of the Father through the Son.

        The closer we walk to that source of power, the more we will have of it!

        Hope you had a great day, sis!

        Steve 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

