From the Positive Viewpoint

duck-with-sunrise by Sue nash

My post this evening, once again was inspired by blog of my sister in Christ, Sue Nash. I inspired by her beautiful photos. I always really love every photo on her blog. I don’t know all of you have the same opinion with me or not, but for me, her photos not just beautiful but even there is something special on it. I was remembered with my husband statement about photo. He said that a great photo must have “Soul” and could speak without using any words. Honestly I must admit that I found it all on Sue’s photos. When I see one of her photos, I am contemplating something. She is probably not a professional photographer but she done very well. Well, I know that is not an easy work. Beside find the right angle, trying to get the best exposure, observant in seeing something interesting from their objects, and doing many other photographic techniques,  she also need to know when the right moment to shoot the object so that later on its object will be a special photo. I conclude that the different viewpoints will give the different results. The different moment also will give the different meaning. Often happened an object that looked unappealing will be a very beautiful object if we can see it from a different and appropriate viewpoint.

I pondered deeper. Looking at a photo object is not much different to see and judge to someone. In our daily lives, perhaps we oftentimes see someone from the negative side only. We are so difficult to find and look at the positive side. We are more likely criticized, accusing, insulting or even blasphemous than giving a compliment. Whereas, just as a photo object, they are certainly have good and positive side as well. It all just depends on the viewpoint where we see it. We often forget that whoever they are, they are also God’s creation. We often forget that even though they have flaws, but they also have the advantages. Even we tend to make a distinction wall. Yet in the eyes of God we all are same and precious creation. We all are His Masterpiece.

I was reminded of a passage from the Psalms. At a time, David did contemplation while accompanied by the beautiful sky sprinkled with stars and the moon is shining beautifully. All he saw was a masterpiece of God. But David also knew that all natural beauty it is not more valuable than human. Then David wrote:

what is mankind that you are mindful of them, human beings that you care for them?  You have made them a little lower than the angelsand crowned them with glory and honor. (Psalm 8:4-5)

David was well aware how precious human beings in the eyes of God. Let’s look at the next verses:

You made them rulers over the works of your hands; you put everything under their feet: all flocks and herds, and the animals of the wild, the birds in the sky, and the fish in the sea, all that swim the paths of the seas.  (Verse 6-8)

Then David closes his writings on this chapter with recognition of the greatness of God:

Lord, our Lord, how majestic is your name in all the earth! (Verse 9)

There is an old wise word that I always remember. “Don’t judge the book by its cover” My dear lovely reader, perhaps we often judging someone only from their appearance. We often did not realize and forget behind their appearance they may have something special. We are forgetting that they are also God’s creation. We are created in His own image.

Then God said, “Let us make mankind in our image, in our likeness, so that they may rule over the fish in the sea and the birds in the sky, over the livestock and all the wild animals, and over all the creatures that move along the ground.” (Genesis 1:26)

If man was created so special, is even said to fit the image and likeness of God himself, of course we cannot deny that we are so precious in God’s eyes. If so, is a big mistake if we are always judge people from the negative side only or we are not trying to look someone from the positive viewpoint. Look at how the Lord appointed His chosen people in the whole story of the Bible. From the beginning God pointed His prophets in the Old Testament until the disciples who chosen by Jesus, they are just ordinary people who may not seen or even despised by their society. God did not choose a king, wealthy people, influential and powerful people, or extraordinary smart people, but God more pleased choosing ordinary people who become extraordinary people in His hands. God chose Christians killers, terrorists on that era who later repented and extraordinarily work for God, Fishermen, tax collectors, shepherds, people who have difficulty in speaking, a servant and others. They amazingly can be transformed by God and used by God. This means, people who are worthless in the others’ eyes could become a very valuable people in God’s eyes.  In God’s hands a useless stone could become a priceless jewelry.

My dear lovely friends, what about us?  If we are already having the heart and mind which are not only always focused on the negative things? Whether we are able to always look and judge someone not from a negative point of view but from a positive viewpoint? In his letter to the Philippians, Paul reminds:

Brothers and sisters, continue to think about what is good and worthy of praise. Think about what is true and honorable and right and pure and beautiful and respected. (Philippians 4:8)

This evening I encourage all of you to continue to maintain purity of our heart and learn to look at anyone from a positive viewpoint. Do not look down on other people no matter whoever they are, do not judge or even blaspheme one another. Let us always remember that whoever they are, they certainly have a positive side if we are look at them from the good and right perspective. Like a photo object, although we using the same camera but will give different result. I remembered, Sue had said that the most important is not the type of camera we use, but how we use and utilize it as best as possible so that the camera can produce stunning photos. Once again I concluded that the problem is not on the camera but on how we steered the camera in the good and right perspective. If we already know from which perspective we look at someone, the positive result could be obtained.  We must always keep our hearts and mind that are not accustomed to see everyone from the negative side only. David said in Psalm 24:4-5:

“The one who has clean hands and a pure heart, who does not trust in an idol or swear by a false god. They will receive blessing from the Lord and vindication from God their Savior.”

We are so precious in His eyes, then let we are also appreciate one and another, which is very special in God’s eyes. We all are His masterpiece. Amen.

Karina

Photo by Sue Nash, http://heavenlyraindrops.wordpress.com

28 thoughts on “From the Positive Viewpoint

  1. I’m following her blog dear! Her poetry’s and pics always touched my heart! They are truly awesome, always beautiful!
    You are a great blessing to others! True beautiful and inspiring post! May God showers you His abundant blessings!
    Neeky

    Like

    • Hi there.. Thank you so much for reading my post.. well, yes I am truly agree! Sue is an awesome person and sister..I learned so much from her..she is one of my inspiration. .:) many blessings to you. .

      Like

  2. Karina, your words have blessed me immensely. How just like God to use someone to encourage me about my photos at a time when I must refrain from taking or working with my pictures due to my neck problems. I love the analogy you used, of how we need to look at all the angles of a person and find the positive, instead of pointing out the wrong. What a blessing you are to the body of Christ. And thanks my sweet sister. Your kind words about my work were much appreciated.

    Like

  3. Yes, i agree that her photos always beautiful and special, i follow her blog 🙂
    About your post, i strongly believe that the different viewpoints will give the different results. Not only about how to see someone as you have explained very well at this post, but for facing the problem too.
    I know you so well, you have been doing what you wrote. You see people from their positive viewpoint, loving them, praying for them, and blessing them..like you have done for me 🙂
    Many loves to you 😉 thank you..

    Like

    • Good morning sis sella..
      Thank you so much for your very lovely comment. What a encouraging words for me. Well, like I often said, I just doing what the right things that supposed I do.:) once again thank you so much. (Hugs you back)

      Like

  4. I totally agree with you, dear Karina! Sue is such an inspiration to me as well. I love her blog … and yours, too!! Thanks for encouraging us to look at the positive side of God’s most precious creation, His people! Blessings to you today, dear one!

    Like

  5. Beautiful picture and beautiful post!
    I find that I definitely struggle with judgement at times. This is such a great reminder. I read a passage not that long ago that asked “why are we so quick to judge other behaviours and make excuses for our own”. How true is that? Thanks again for sharing!

    Like

    • Hi there..
      Thank you very much for reading and commenting my post. I really appreciate it.. Yes you are absolutely right sometime whe struggle to not judging to someone easily. .once again thank you for your comment. Many love and blessings. .

      Like

  6. Karina I definitely agree with you, Sue has got a beautiful blog. And thank you so much for this reminder to check the log in our own eyes first, before condemning others because none of us is qualified to that. It is only because of His mercy and love that we are not consumed. Thank God for the precious Blood of Jesus! God bless you my dear sister! 🙂

    Like

  7. Just recently I told a friend of mine that I want to learn about photography…my eyes were beginning to see the beauty of creation and the awesomeness of humanity. Capturing timeless image of God creation should be inspiring. Human labels should not replace the beauty of God through the lens of scripture. Thanks for sharing.
    – McDaniels

    Like

    • Hi there, thank you so much for following my blog and reading my posts. . It is such an honor for me.. I will pray for your husband as well. Once again thank you very much. Many love and blessings to you.

      Like

  8. I love that thought, “a beautiful photo must have a soul.” That soul in beautiful phots is a great reminder of how we must look, and wait for the beautiful.

    Excellent post sis!

    Like

    • Hi sis..thank you so much for reading and commenting my post. I am not expert on photography but I think yes right. .beautiful photo must has “Soul” and we found it in Sue’s photo. Many love and blessings.

      Like

Leave a Reply

