Glory be to God on High

Glory be to God

Glory be to God on High
He has restored my life
Giving me peace to overcome
To cast down thoughts of the evil one
              
My very life I live in Him
Christ my Lord soon coming King
I’m watching and waiting His face to see
The one that gave me liberty
              
No greater love I’ve ever known
Than from the One that saved my soul
His praises I’ll forever sing
Lover of my soul is Jesus my King
              
His word is like medicine to me
The weapon I use to battle the enemy
For on His word I will stand
In the name of Jesus authority is given
            
I will not fear for He is near
The still small voice whispers in my ear
“Be still and know that I AM GOD”
The power of His word on the enemy to trod
              
Many are the afflictions of the righteous
But you deliver us from them all with love and kindness
Although it is good to be on the mountain top
It’s in the valley I have grown and you’ve taught me a lot
              
Both daughter of Zion and little girl He calls me
I’m blessed beyond measure to be in His family
Saved and sanctified for His purpose and plan
Never to be plucked out of His hand
              
Father, Son, and Holy Ghost I will praise
My God is 3 in One throughout eternity reigns
Bless the Lord O’ my soul and forget not all His benefits
Guide me and keep me LORD through your precious Holy Spirit
 
Pastor Linda Begley

Photo Credit: sunrise in Mount Fuji by Kevin Lam

15 thoughts on “Glory be to God on High

  1. “Many are the afflictions of the righteous
    But you deliver us from them all with love and kindness
    Although it is good to be on the mountain top
    It’s in the valley I have grown and you’ve taught me a lot ”

    I love this whole poem, but these words grabbed me. As Christians, we do suffer persecution. This is something with which the unbeliever is not familiar. They don’t understand suffering for the cause of Christ against the multitudes of the world!

    But to go on with your thought, God can and will deliver us in our afflictions for His name’s sake. And it is in trial that we can learn the most about God and about ourselves…

    Steve

    Like

    • Yes! and one more thing, trial and afflictions could make us strong and more realized to whom we should rely on. He will never leave us alone in facing the trial. Thank you so much for your opinion on this post, brother 🙂 May God abundantly bless you. Amen. Have a wonderful day.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ah my wonderful sister in Christ! You are right, the Lord does allow trials in our lives to toughen us up in order that we may fight off the advances of the devil more easily. This can be read about in Hebrews chp. 12 I believe…

        Do you need any help with posting one of your wonderful but perhaps shorter messages yet? I am always ready to help in an advisory role as you know…

        Have a marvelous day, Karin!!

        Steve

        Liked by 1 person

        • Thank you for your insightful comment and the Bible chapter 🙂 well, maybe this week I will try to write something short and as I said before, if I need your help I will surely ask you to help. Thank you for your kindness, brother 🙂 many blessings to you.

          Like

Leave a Reply

