The Thirst

When I had thought life’s thirsts too great for quenching,

the yearnings of a soul, too strong to still,

I saw the Living Waters flowing freely;

And drinking deeply, knew my being’s fill.

Before the Throne of God I found fulfillment!

For in that flow of Heaven’s joy divine,

I knew the rich infilling of the Spirit,

and claimed that Holy effluence as mine.

Within my soul, now springs a stream eternal,

which stems from God the Son, Who dwells above;

My thirst, assuaged forever at that fountain,

Has found the potion sweet of Jesus’ love! en

By Constance Calenberg

6 thoughts on “The Thirst

Leave a Reply

